+-


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

Members Online

87 Guests, 1 User
ZycloneB

Alarm Installer Search and Reviews




Myalarminstaller.com

Author Topic: motion sensors iindicate fault,  (Read 2826 times)

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
motion sensors iindicate fault,
« on: December 30, 2009, 12:33:31 PM »
DSC 1832/RFK5500 w 2 wireless sensors.
Have been OK for the last 6 months, then both indicated Default.
I called tech support, removed the sensor batteries and after quite awhile of trying various settings, he talked me through resetting about everything.

They were OK, then around 24 hours later I heard a beep, they went back into default.

I had recently brought the XMAS tree down from the attic and am wondering if I could have bumped a wire.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

dknull

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 01:31:33 PM »
Are they wired or wireless?  What do you mean when you say "indicated Default"?
Always learning.... sometimes the hard way.

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 02:23:41 PM »
Both wireless sensors show as Zone Fault

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2009, 09:38:14 PM »
It would seem that the system has lost communications between the RF keypad and the motions. I would try reseting the system by unplugging the transformer and battery then plug them back in (battery first). This will force the system to re enroll the RF keypad. The trouble light will be on for the clock. You can download the user manual from this site if you need to know how to reset it. Once the trouble light is cleared, carefully remove one of the motions from its mounting plate. The trouble light should come on for tamper of the motion. Thats good news because it means that the RF keypad is seeing the motion. Remount the motion and the trouble will clear. If trouble light doesn't come on when motion is removed then let us know.
The Fish
Service Technician

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2009, 07:14:37 AM »
Unplugged and reconnected power.
Set Date/Time =  Green light

Disconnected motion sensors - still green, no fault or trouble indication.

Removed batteries from one of the motion sensors, sensor flashes red, still green on keypad.


Magnum Alert

  • Pro-Tech Advisor/Moderator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3033
  • Karma: +177/-0
  • NICET Certified - Fire Alarm Systems - #121764
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2009, 09:16:11 AM »
This sounds insane (like the person posting this) but try assigning those two motions to a different zone number.  I know it sounds crazy, but I had a similar problem with a wireless glassbreak on a PC5010 (Power 832) the other day, that constantly showed as being open, even when I replaced it and reprogrammed it.  Removing it from zone 12 and assigning it to zone 21 did the trick.
Specializing in Ademco, DSC, DMP, Moose, Napco, and GE Concord and NetworX.
NICET certified - #121764
VESDA certified designer/installer.

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2009, 12:40:58 PM »
I moved the wireless motion sensors from 9 & 10 to 15& 16.  Yellow light
LCD displays:
View trouble = phone line  (I am not using phone service)
Service request = gen sys tmpr

Settings:
15 & 16 - correct hex values
203 = ------78
015=12-45678
016=12-45678
09&10 values cleared

Tried removing sensors and batteries, reinstalled = no change

Did I miss something ?

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2009, 12:48:28 PM »
Opps ! the lights are yellow AND green

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2009, 01:41:03 PM »
had turn on the phone monitoring (15) by mistake. Still have
Service request = gen sys tmpr
Yellow & green

dknull

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2009, 01:50:32 PM »
Option 8 in [016] enables keypad tampers, by default it is not enabled.  Do you have the rubber keypad tamper actuator installed?  Is the keypad screwed to the wall?  If not, it could be the cause of the gen sys tmpr.  Did you have option 8 on before?

You might also find that the gen sys tmpr will clear after power cycle.
Always learning.... sometimes the hard way.

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2009, 03:24:08 PM »
Option 8 was on, I shut it off and now it is green.

The motion sensors don't appear to be working.

dknull

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2009, 03:27:49 PM »
Wireless motion detectors will trigger just one time and then shut down for several minutes before they will trigger again.  This is a battery-saving feature.  Also on many models (maybe all of them) the red light on the sensor does not light up in normal use, only in test mode.
Always learning.... sometimes the hard way.

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2010, 06:39:28 AM »
Goto sections 115 and 116 and make sure option 8 is on for both. Also in section 001 make sure the zone types are programmed correctly for 15 and 16 and zero out zones 9 and 10. Did you reprogram the serial numbers in section 804 for zones 15 and 16 and zero out the serial numbers for zones 9 and 10?
 
You can't test the motion easily by walking in front of it for reasons that dknull posted. You can though, remove it from its mounting plate and if working properly it will send an instant trouble to the keypad. This trouble is a tamper on the motion and will let you know it is responding properly.

Also try going to section 903 in programming and scroll (< >) through all the devices that the panel is seeing. It should show the keypad(s) and the 5132 if they are enrolled. ;)

The Fish
Service Technician

bobbee

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2010, 09:35:29 AM »
I did the above, but if I turn on 016  8, there is a gen sys tmpr
If I shut off 016 8 then it is in the green.

115/116 8 is on
001 - 9 & 10 = 00  15& 16 = 05
804 - 9&10=0  15&16 have correct hex values.
903 shows keypad 8, PC5132

Remove motion sensors = no change, I assume that is because 016  8 if off

is There a way to clear a tmpr ?
015 = 2345
016 = 12 4567

Any other ideas ?





dknull

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 692
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: motion sensors iindicate fault,
« Reply #14 on: January 01, 2010, 10:09:24 AM »
Quote
Remove motion sensors = no change, I assume that is because 016  8 if off

[016] option 8 is Keypad tamper. The keypad tamper switch is a feature that you need to install when mounting the keypad.  There is a small rubber button that must be placed in a hole on the back of the keypad mounting frame before it is screwed to the wall.  The button will press on the circuit board to complete a circuit, but only if the keypad is screwed to a flat surface.  If all that is not in place, you should not enable keypad tampers with [016] bit 8. 

With [016] bit 8 off, the motion tamper should still work as fishlips said - by pulling the motion off the wall.

The only other idea I have is to triple-check the ESNs in zones 15 and 16.  Are you sure you are reading the ESN labels correctly?
Always learning.... sometimes the hard way.

 

Powered by EzPortal