+-

Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

Members Online

59 Guests, 1 User
bramfrank

Alarm Installer Search and Reviews

Myalarminstaller.com

Author Topic: To catch a thief  (Read 1901 times)

somebody

• View Profile
To catch a thief
« on: September 04, 2009, 12:16:17 PM »
Hi there -- I'm new to this forum, and just looking for some advice.

We have a car theif in the neighbourhood.  Basically, they look for unlocked cars, and then take anything of value from inside.  This has been going on for about a year now -- I don't know how often he comes, as I usually lock my car, but he has come several times now when I forgot.  Talking with the nieghbours I'm guessing it's every couple of weeks or so.  Last time he came he managed to damage one of the speakers in the car.

So, enough is enough -- I want to catch them (I'm not interested in just detering them).  So, I'd like some advise on this.

What I'm thinking is a survellence system, but I have little or no experience with these.  I don't want to spend a fortune, but I want to get a good enough image to recognize the guy.  Nightcams would be required.

What would be really cool would be to have a disposable (<$100) wireless camera in the glove box set to start recording when the glove box was opened -- I think that would pretty much guarentee me a view of the face.  Unfortunately, I can't find such a thing.

I was wondering if anyone had any creative ideas on what I could do.  I'd like to stay below the $500 mark, so what's my best bet for that kind of money?

Thanks

John

Security Monitor

• Security Guru
  • member: International Order of the llamas
    • View Profile
Re: To catch a thief
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009, 12:32:25 PM »
So, you would rather spend money to buy a camera system in hopes you catch the person instead of not being the victim.

Option 1:  Buy a cheap self contained camera system for $400.  Person breaks in steals something but does not open glove box.